Changes in Covid-19 related restrictions are occurring daily within the Middle East with Arab media reporting on the following announcements from government authorities:

  • Dubai Municipality has announced the closure of all parks and entertainment facilities until further notice.
  • Dubai Tourism has announced that all bars, pub and lounges (including bars within restaurants) will be closed until the end of March 2020.
  • The Dubai Department of Economic Development has announced that all cinemas, theme parks, amusement games & electronic game centres, bodybuilding & fitness gyms & spring camps licensed in Dubai will halt all their activities and services until end of March 2020.
  • Effective March 17, UAE authorities have temporarily suspended the issuance of all entry visas. This does not apply to those passengers holding diplomatic passports or those who have had visas issued prior to March 17. However there are a large number of countries exempted from this restriction, including New Zealand. Exempted passengers may continue to travel but may still be subject to additional screening. For the full list of countries see below.
  • Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy (from Rome only), Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Vatican, United Kingdom and the United States of America.
  • Emirates airline has been cancelling flights to and from selected destinations – check out the following link for the latest updates and information on which destinations are affected.

Further updates will follow as required.